Canada 67

Réalisé par Robert Barclay
Neuf écrans en Circle-Vision 360°, 22 min,
35 mm, couleur, français/anglais
Pavillon du téléphone

Le film Canada ’67 a été créé pour le Pavillon du téléphone à Expo 67 et commandité par l’Association des compagnies de téléphone du Canada. Pour voir cette attraction principale du pavillon qui était présentée à toutes les demi-heures dans une salle de 200 places, il fallait parfois faire la file pendant des heures. Réalisé par Robert Barclay et produit par Walt Disney Productions, Canada ’67 était un monologue en couleur de 22 minutes sur le Canada. Il a été tourné sur une période de neuf mois en Circle-Vision 360°, une technique cinématographique développée par Disney en utilisant neuf caméras 35 mm synchronisées disposées en cercle. Le film était ensuite projeté sur neuf grands écrans pour produire un effet ambiophonique de 360°. Comme le décrit le Expo 67 Information Manual, « A 15-speaker stereophonic sound system and nine projectors, each covering a 40° arc of the circular screen, are used for the presentation of Circle-Vision 360°. The screen itself is 23-feet high and 273-feet in circumference. With the bottom edge of the screen only seven feet from the floor, the audience has the thrilling experience of being caught in the action. »

À la fin du film, les portes du théâtre s’ouvraient sur une salle d’exposition où était racontée l’histoire de l’industrie des télécommunications canadiennes par le biais de diverses activités et présentations. Il y avait un jeu de logique et de mémoire, un quizz télé, une forêt enchantée pour les enfants où ils pouvaient se servir de téléphones Touch-Tone pour entendre leurs personnages Disney préférés et une démonstration en direct portant sur l’avenir des téléphones, incluant des nouveautés comme le signal d’appel et le vidéophone. Si le signal d’appel est aujourd’hui standard et que le vidéophone n’est plus une nouveauté, les films en Circle-Vision 360° continuent à séduire le public. En raison de la très grande popularité de Canada ’67, un film semblable en Circle-Vision 360° intitulé O Canada! a été réalisé en 1982 pour être présenté au Pavillon du Canada au Epcot Center du Walt Disney World où une autre nouvelle version du film est encore et toujours projetée de nos jours. La technologie Circle-Vision 360° a fait du film et du Pavillon du téléphone l’un des plus populaires attraits d’Expo 67. (Ann Danilevich)

Robert Barclay

Cinéaste établi à Toronto, Robert Barclay a écrit, réalisé et monté plus de 250 documentaires depuis les années 1960. Il a été membre fondateur de la Guilde canadienne des réalisateurs en 1961, au sein de laquelle il a œuvré à divers titres. Parmi les nombreuses biographies filmées qu’il a réalisées, mentionnons les portraits de Walt Disney, de Mary Quant et de k.d. lang. Ses films lui ont mérité quelque 25 prix nationaux et internationaux.

Canada 67

Directed by Robert Barclay
Nine screens in Circle-Vision 360°, twenty-two minutes,
35mm, colour, English/French
Telephone Pavilion

The film Canada 67 was created for the Telephone Pavilion at Expo 67 and sponsored by the Telephone Association of Canada. The film was the pavilion’s main attraction and, although it was screened every half hour in a theatre that could hold twelve hundred people, the wait to get inside sometimes took hours. Directed by Robert Barclay and produced by Walt Disney Productions, Canada 67 was a twenty-two-minute colour soliloquy to Canada. It was shot over a period of nine months in Circle-Vision 360°, a film technique developed by Disney using nine synchronized 35mm cameras arranged in a circle. The film is then projected onto nine large screens for a 360° surround effect. As the Expo 67 Information Manual describes it, “A 15- speaker stereophonic sound system and nine projectors, each covering a 40° arc of the circular screen, are used for the presentation of Circle-Vision 360°. The screen itself is 23-feet high and 273-feet in circumference. With the bottom edge of the screen only seven feet from the floor, the audience has the thrilling experience of being caught in the action.”

Once the film was over, the theatre doors opened into the pavilion’s exhibition hall, which disclosed the history of the Canadian telecommunication industry through a variety of activities and displays. There was a logic and memory game, a telequiz, an enchanted forest for children where they could use touch-tone phones to listen to favourite Disney characters, and a live demonstration of the future of telephones, including novelties such as call-waiting and videophone. Although call-waiting is now standard, and videophone is no longer a novelty, Circle-Vision 360° films continue to charm viewers. Due to the enormous popularity of Canada 67, a similar Circle-Vision 360° film titled O Canada! was made in 1982 to screen at the Canada Pavilion at the Walt Disney’s Epcot Centre, where yet another new version of the film is still screening today. The Circle-Vision 360° technology made the film and the Telephone Pavilion among the most popular at Expo. (Ann Danilevich)

Robert Barclay

Robert Barclay is a Toronto filmmaker who wrote, directed and edited over 250 documentary films since the 1960s. He was a founding member of the Director’s Guild of Canada in 1961, where he contributed in various capacities. His numerous film biographies include portraits of Walt Disney, Mary Quant and k.d. lang. His films have won some twenty-five national and international awards.